x Close

Department of Geology, University of Nairobi

The Department of Geology which started in 1956 is one of the oldest departments in the Faculty of Science, University of Nairobi. Initially located in the Gadhi Wing of the Main Campus, the Department shifted to Chiromo Campus in 1975 together with the other Physical Science Departments, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Meteorology and the Institute of Computer Science.

The department trains personnel in the following disciplines; mineralogy and petrology (study of minerals & rocks), exploration geochemistry, exploration geophysics, engineering geology, marine geology, environmental geology, structural geology, photogeology and remote sensing, stratigraphy, historical geology, palaeontology (study of fossils), economic geology, petroleum geology, hydrogeology and seismology (study of earthquakes) and in the recent disciplines of medical geology and agrogeology.

For detailed information visit: Department of Geology

Upcoming Events

View Events Calendar